The Board of Governors uses a policy governance model.

Public board members are appointed by a Government of Alberta Order in Council and typically serve a three-year term of office with the opportunity to serve an additional three-year term. Internal representatives (i.e. the academic, non-academic and student members) are elected by their constituency group and appointed directly by the Minister of Advanced Education for terms outlined in the Post-secondary Learning Act.

Board schedule

Board meetings start at 4:30 p.m. in the college boardroom (CE2341). You will find our schedule for the 2020-21 academic year below:


  • Tuesday, September 8
  • Tuesday,October 27
  • Tuesday, November 24


  • Tuesday, February 2
  • March 22-23 - Board Retreat
  • Tuesday, April 27
  • Tuesday, June 8

Current agenda

Our next Board of Governors meeting will be on Tuesday, October 27. The meeting will be held virtually. If you would like to request access the public portion of the meeting, please contact the board secretary.

The agenda can be found here approximately one week before the meeting.

Please direct all media inquiries to Paul Kingsmith - 403-320-3200 ext. 5211 or, and all other inquiries to Kristen DeMone - 403-320-3209 or

Board members

Mike Marcotte-web-edit.jpg

Michael Marcotte

Board chair

Kristine Cassie.jpg

Kristine Cassie

Vice chair


Tracy Zappone

Vice chair


Paula Burns

President and CEO


Brenda Brindle.jpg

Brenda Brindle

Public member



Open Position

Public member


Travis Plaited Hair.jpg

Travis Plaited Hair

Public Member


Karri Flatla

Karri Flatla

Public member



Jennifer Davis

Academic member



Open Position

Non-academic member


Emil Cipion

Student member


Laura McKinnon

Student member


Kristen DeMone-web-edit.jpg

Board Secretary

Kristen DeMone

Board mandate

The Board of Governors of Lethbridge College is established under the Post-secondary Learning Act (Statutes of Alberta, 2003 Chapter P-19.5).

Our Lethbridge College Mandate and Roles is developed collaboratively with the Minister of Advanced Education, reflecting a common understanding of respective roles and responsibilities. A full listing of our board bylaws is available here.