Campus News
Michael Marcotte

Lethbridge College will enjoy consistency at the head of its Board of Governors table, as Board Chair Michael Marcotte has been reappointed to a three-year term by the Government of Alberta. Marcotte initially joined the college’s board as chair in September 2019.

In addition to Marcotte’s reappointment, Perry Stein has been appointed as a public member of the board for a three-year term that began Dec. 14. The Ministry of Advanced Education has also named Dr. Sheila French as the faculty representative for a three-year term, while Sarah Harland and Muneer Nazam were appointed as student representatives on the board for 2022-23.

During his initial three-year term, Marcotte helped guide the college’s COVID-19 response at a governance level; oversaw the college’s search for a new President, which culminated with the hiring of Dr. Brad Donaldson in August 2022; and has worked closely with college leadership to ensure the college adapts and reacts to changes in Alberta’s Advanced Education system.

“During my first three years, the college, the provincial post-secondary system and the world each saw monumental changes, which we navigated excellently, guided by strong leadership,” says Marcotte. “During my next term, I want to continue to set the framework for the long-term sustainability of Lethbridge College and ensure the systems and relationships are in place that will allow the college to continue to be a leader in post-secondary in Alberta. We need to continue to be nimble, responsive and dynamic to ensure we are keeping up with the speed of business.”

Marcotte is the owner of both Prime Catering and The Italian Table and has used his community ties to support a wide variety of causes throughout southwestern Alberta. In December, he was awarded a Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal in recognition of his community involvement.

Perry Stein

Stein is an urban planner, engagement professional and truth and reconciliation practitioner, who is currently project planning lead for the City of Lethbridge. Throughout his career, Stein has worked with Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities to advance strong community planning and public engagement, following principles of inclusion, diversity, equity and accessibility. As an avid applied researcher, he has contributed to the fields of urban planning, heritage management, reconciliation and Indigenous community engagement, through publications, conference presentations and guest lectures locally and internationally.

“I have had the opportunity to know and work with Perry Stein for many years and I am excited for what he will bring to our board,” says Marcotte. “His commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion, and knowledge of what it means to live and work on traditional Blackfoot territory align with the values of our board and our college. I look forward to his contributions.”

Dr. Sheila French

French is a faculty researcher and instructor in experimental psychology, corrections, and criminal justice. Her past research and publications have primarily focused on correctional studies, specifically in the assessment, management and reduction of risk for recidivism in justice-involved persons.

Harland is already a dual graduate of Lethbridge College, having completed her Journeyman and Red Seal in Culinary Arts in 2012, and her Early Childhood Education certificate in 2020. She is currently a student in the General Arts and Science program, majoring in psychology and sociology. Nazam is in his second year of the General Arts and Science - Psychology and Sociology program and is also President of the Lethbridge College Students’ Association (LCSA).

The Board of Governors is made up of 12 members – the chair, six public members, one representative each for academic and non-academic college staff, two student positions, and the college’s President. Public board members are appointed by a Government of Alberta Order in Council by the Lieutenant Governor. Internal representatives (the academic, non-academic and student members) are elected by their constituency groups and appointed directly by the Minister of Advanced Education for terms outlined in the Post-secondary Learning Act.