News Release
a close up of a woman smiling
Marni Hope.

The Government of Alberta has appointed three new members to Lethbridge College’s Board of Governors. Marni Hope (Miisomii’kitsikaakii/Long Time Offering) is beginning her three-year term as a non-academic representative while student members, Niculina (Nicky) Jensen and Stefan Joseph, will serve on the board for the 2023-24 academic year.

As the Indigenous student support and events coordinator at Lethbridge College, Hope develops and delivers cultural workshops and programs that centre around Indigenous culture, language and history. She is an alum of Trent University and is currently pursuing her Master of Education in Interdisciplinary Studies at the University of Calgary. Hope is also vice president of the Sixties Scoop Indigenous Society of Alberta, is a Lethbridge Sports Hall of Fame board member, and represents Indigenous interests on the Oldman River Health Advisory Council.

Niculina (Nicky) Jensen.

“The board was pleased to see Marni put her name forward for consideration,” says Michael Marcotte, Chair of the Lethbridge College Board of Governors. “The college’s Indigenous Services team is critical to creating an open and inclusive environment and I know she will provide great perspective as our non-academic member. I’m also excited to welcome our two student members, Nicky and Stefan, and I look forward to the energy all three will bring to the group.”

Jensen, a second-year Practical Nurse student, began her path in health care at Lethbridge College in 2018 in the Health Care Aide (HCA) program. She worked as an aide at St. Michael’s Health Centre in both the long-term care and dementia units before deciding to return to the college and pursue her childhood dream of becoming a Licensed Practical Nurse. Jensen recently completed two terms as Vice President of Operations and Finance for the Lethbridge College Students’ Association (LCSA) and has also served as a tutor and mentor for HCA students.

Joseph is an international student from South Africa and is in his second year of the Computer Information Technology program. As current president of the LCSA, he is focused on student advocacy, ensuring students’ needs are voiced, and creating an inclusive environment for students from all backgrounds and cultures. Joseph also has a Bachelor of Science in Applied Business Management from Brigham Young University - Idaho.

Stefan Joseph.

Those leaving the Lethbridge College Board of Governors are Emory Hache, Sarah Harland and Muneer Nazam, whose terms recently ended.

The Board of Governors is made up of 12 members – the chair, six public members, one representative each for academic and non-academic college staff, two student positions, and the college’s President. Public members are appointed by a Government of Alberta Order in Council by the Lieutenant Governor. Internal representatives (the academic, non-academic and student members) are elected by their constituency groups and appointed directly by the Minister of Advanced Education for terms outlined in the Post-secondary Learning Act.