Wider Horizons

Congratulations to the following Lethbridge College community members for making a difference in their life, work and community. Here are some highlights of their successes:

Dr. Brad Donaldson, Lethbridge College President and CEO; Mike Marcotte, Chair of the Lethbridge College Board of Governors; and Lori Harasem, Wellness Services health promotion coordinator; have been awarded the Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal in recent months

Team “Engine-uity” – Multimedia Production and Digital Communications and Media students Kathleen Bernal, Jordan David, Nicholas Rabl, Margot Simard and Trey Tymensen – took home the win in the eighth annual Tecconnect Challenge. 

Several Centre for Health and Wellness faculty members were nominated for awards through the Alberta Colleges and Institutes Faculties Association. Congratulations to Rena Walker, nominated for a Scholarships of Teaching and Learning award; Ashley Cesar and Karla Wolsky, nominated as a team for the Distinguished Instructor award; and Gillian Comchi, nominated for an Innovation in Teaching award. 

Gerry Campbell-Greer (General Arts and Sciences 2023) received a Champion Award from the Southern Alberta Individualized Planning Association during the International Day of Persons with Disabilities in December. 

General Arts and Science instructor Jill Burrows was named Professor of the Year by the Prairie Baseball Association in February. The student-nominated award was created to show appreciation for those who help their student-athletes to succeed. 

Dr. Sheila French, who  teaches in the Correctional Studies, Criminal Justice – Policing and Justice Studies – Bachelor of Applied Arts programs, received the 2022-2023 Lethbridge College Students’ Association and Lethbridge College Faculty Association Award for Teaching Excellence this spring. Christine Baccus, who teaches in the Child and Youth Care program, was named the LCSA/FA Rookie of the Year

Wider Horizons
Story by Lisa Kozleski
Original Publication Date: