News Release
(L to R): Kristine Cassie, Nolan Johnson, Janene Moch, Calvin Scott

The Government of Alberta has announced four public member board appointments to Lethbridge College’s Board of Governors.

Current vice chair of the Board of Governors, Kristine Cassie, has been re-appointed to the board, while Nolan Johnson, Janene Moch and Calvin Scott join the board. All four appointments begin March 10 and run until March 31, 2022.

“Kristine has been, and will continue to be, an invaluable member of the board, while it’s great to welcome the excitement and expertise of our three new members,” says Michael Marcotte, chair of the Lethbridge College Board of Governors. “Nolan, Janene and Calvin bring extensive business knowledge and varied backgrounds that will be a benefit in our role as governors and ambassadors for Lethbridge College.”

Cassie joined the Lethbridge College board in 2017 and now serves as a vice chair. She has worked in the human services sector for more than 34 years with substantial experience and advocacy efforts in the areas of youth empowerment, domestic and sexual violence and housing. She is currently CEO of the Chinook Sexual Assault Centre.

Johnson is a partner at Huckvale LLP, specializing in commercial, residential and agricultural real estate, as well as corporate and commercial transactions. He is a member of a number of professional organizations, and an active volunteer with community groups in both Lethbridge and Magrath.

Moch is a CPA who is a principal partner at MNP LLP, with over 25 years of experience advising clients in a wide variety of business sectors. She also has a history of governance experience, serving on boards for many organizations, including 1st Choice Savings and Credit Union, Economic Development Lethbridge and the Alberta Council of Women’s Shelters.

Scott returns to the college’s Board of Governors after previously serving on the board from 2014 to 2017. Also a CPA, Scott is a partner with Avail CPA where his professional focus is split between advisory and compliance services for owner-managed businesses and non-for-profit clients. He has volunteered and worked with many community and athletic programs in southern Alberta.

The Ministry of Advanced Education also named Ray Many Chief to the board as a student representative, filling a vacant position that runs until June 30. Many Chief is a student in the college’s Business Administration – Management program.

The Board of Governors is made up of 12 members – the chair, six public members, one representative each for academic and non-academic college staff, two student positions, and the college’s President. Public board members are appointed by a Government of Alberta Order in Council by the Lieutenant Governor. Internal representatives (the academic, non-academic and student members) are elected by their constituency groups and appointed directly by the Minister of Advanced Education for terms outlined in the Post-secondary Learning Act.

The next public board meeting is April 27 on Zoom.