News Release

The Government of Alberta has appointed a new member to Lethbridge College’s Board of Governors. Karri Flatla has been appointed to a three-year term that began March 17.

Flatla brings over fifteen years of business and entrepreneurial experience to her board role. Currently, she is a residential real estate agent and team leader for Karri Flatla & Associates at RE/MAX. Flatla has also worked in rail transportation, oil and gas, economic development, and owned a marketing consulting business from 2005 to 2011. Flatla is a Lethbridge College alumna, having graduated from the Business Administration program in 1999, and also holds a Bachelor of Management degree from the University of Lethbridge.

“It is a pleasure to welcome Karri to the board,” says Michael Marcotte, Chair of the Lethbridge College Board of Governors. “Her professional successes and community involvement, as well as her own experiences as a Lethbridge College alumna give her a unique perspective that will serve her well in this role. We look forward to the contributions she will make to the ongoing work of this board to provide leadership to the entire college community.”

According to the Government of Alberta’s Ministry of Advanced Education, Flatla was appointed as she met the criteria desired to be a member of Lethbridge College’s Board of Governors. The core competencies of a board member include leadership and governance, while the preferred competencies include finance, human resources, legal, risk management and/or strategic planning.

The Board of Governors is made up of 12 members – the chair, six public members, one representative each for academic and non-academic college staff, two student positions, and the college’s President. Public board members are appointed by a Government of Alberta Order in Council by the Lieutenant Governor and typically serve a three-year term of office, with the opportunity to serve an additional three-year term. Internal representatives (the academic, non-academic and student members) are elected by their constituency groups and appointed directly by the Minister of Advanced Education for terms outlined in the Post-secondary Learning Act.