News Release

LC-DCM-2.jpg Lethbridge College and 11 other journalism schools from across Canada are joining forces to strengthen journalism education, creating a new organization called J-Schools Canada/ÉcolesJ.

Acknowledging that journalism faces a range of threats around the world, the agreement allows the partner institutions to share best teaching practices and knowledge to help bolster the quality of journalism education in Canada. Instructors and students in Lethbridge College’s Digital Communications and Media program will gain additional access to resources and opportunities to share ideas.

“This elevates our program by putting us on par with some of the best journalism schools in Canada,” says Kris Hodgson, chair of the School of Media and Design. “This will allow us to look at educational best practices, different tactics that are being used in the classroom to speak about the evolution of the industry, and how students can evolve their craft to meet the demands of this quickly evolving market.”

The organization will also operate as the official publishing body responsible for J-Source, a website designed to promote a national discussion about journalism and to act as a source for news, research, commentary, advice and resources. Lethbridge College students will benefit by potentially having the opportunity to have their work published on a national platform.

“It’s really exciting that our students will have a chance to gain a national level of exposure,” says Hodgson. “It’s also a chance to look at the challenges within the industry and how information platforms are shifting as well as to strive for the excellence that is needed within our field.”

LC-DCM-1.jpg Currently administered by Carleton University’s journalism program, J-Schools Canada/ÉcolesJ is the Canadian affiliate of the World Journalism Education Council (WJEC). The WJEC represents worldwide academic associations involved in post-secondary journalism. It provides a common space for global educators to focus on issues in the field.

Current association members include the University of British Columbia, British Columbia Institute of Technology, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Lethbridge College, Mount Royal University, University of Regina, Wilfrid Laurier University, Ryerson University, Algonquin College, Carleton University, University of King’s College and College of the North Atlantic. Membership is open to all post-secondary journalism programs in Canada.

Lethbridge College’s two-year Digital Communications and Media diploma program reflects the evolution of the industry by incorporating cutting-edge industry trends and the latest equipment and tools into the classroom to ensure education remains relevant into the future. Many graduates go on to careers in traditional media, such as newspaper, television, web and radio reporters, as well as emerging careers as bloggers, freelance video journalists and social media specialists.


LISTEN: Kris Hodgson, chair of the School of Media and Design, speaks about Lethbridge College joining J-Schools Canada/ÉcolesJ.