LC Logo.jpg The Government of Alberta has appointed three members to Lethbridge College’s Board of Governors. Brenda Brindle returns for a second term on the board, and will be joined by first-time members Elaine Dixson and Jamie Fisher. All were appointed to three-year terms that officially began Sept. 17.

“With the reappointment of Brenda Brindle and the new appointments of Elaine Dixson and Jamie Fisher, we are ready!” says Kristin Ailsby, the college’s Board of Governors Chair, referring to the college’s newly launched campaign “Be ready – what happens next matters most.”


“Alberta’s economy is changing,” she adds. “It’s becoming more diverse, technologically advanced and responsive every day. Lethbridge College needs decision-makers who understand these changes, appreciate the role education plays with and for them, and know how to best position college learners for what happens next. Brenda, Elaine and Jamie have successfully navigated transformative changes in their own professions, and I have every confidence that they will help ready the college for its exciting future”. 

Brindle previously served on the Governance and Human Resources committee of the Lethbridge College Board of Governors. Her extensive background in agriculture includes two degrees from the University of Alberta – a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture and a Master of Science in Rural Economy. Brenda has most notably worked for Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development as executive director and the Alberta Grain Commission as general manager before retiring in 2013.


Dixson is president of Key Concepts Ltd., a Lethbridge-based communications management consultancy. She holds a Masters in Communications Studies and a Masters in Continuing Education, has previously taught at Alberta post-secondary institutions for over 10 years, and has contributed to the boards of many industry and community organizations as a member, director or chair for more than 30 years.


Fisher is a 1989 graduate of the Law Enforcement program at Lethbridge College who went on to earn a Masters of Education degree in 2003. He recently retired after working for the Lethbridge Police Service for 27 years, where he was the first recipient of the Lethbridge Police Service Distinguished Service award in 2004 for courage, bravery and leadership. In addition to his work in the justice field, Fisher has been a football coach for more than 30 years.

Those leaving the Lethbridge College Board of Governors are Richard Stamp and Randy Dunlop, whose terms ended earlier this year.

Public board members are appointed by a Government of Alberta Order in Council by the Lieutenant Governor in Council and typically serve a three-year term of office, with the opportunity to serve an additional three-year term. Internal representatives (the academic, non-academic and student members) are elected by their constituency groups and appointed directly by the Minister of Advanced Education for terms outlined in the Post-secondary Learning Act.